Playing With Poetry Generators Again

I’ve been plodding along with work on the poetry that’s supposed to be a greater component of this blog–nitpicking, as is too often the case–in the all too rare moments I have free between working on the novel, working at my actual paying manual-labor job, working for a couple of different volunteer things I do, working for my teenage bosses as chauffeur-butler-cook-dishwasher-etc, and working to explain myself to my wife (insert winking emoticon here).  I’m almost done with this year’s taxes, however.

My head feels thick today–so I’ll screw around on the computer, I thought, looking at the million links I’ve bookmarked to check out when “I have time.”  Automatic Poetry Generators strike my fancy, so without further adieu….

I went over to MakeAPoem at http://www.runokone.com/makeapoem/index.php . This one is fun because it reminds me of MadLibs–you enter in words and the program spits them back out at you.  I entered some intentionally maudlin words and got this:

Vacation Commiseration

plod and stumble towards shelter
prescribe Rimrock to bathe in blank skyless late winter
vague gray ceiling is keening
a molasses beast is colossal cold

drink if you miss my kiss

somebody scolding
dependent upon you.

Not bad, eh?  I’m going back to do something edgy, something topical and political.  Allow me to present:

Black Sea DayDream

rumbling behind the wall
abandon Crimea to gulp grim late winter
artillery fire burns
tanks is vast cold

raise a rifle if the russian are coming

somebody communist
beside you.

http://www.runokone.com/makeapoem/index.php

I urge (compel? demand!) all of you to tromp on over to  the site, follow the directions carefully (it won’t work if you don’t fill every blank), make yer poem then copy and paste it in the comments section below.

About JunkChuck

Native, Militant Westsylvanian (the first last best place), laborer, gardener, and literary hobbyist (if by literary you mean "hack"). I've had a bunch of different blogs, probably four, due to a recurring compulsion to start over. This incarnation owes to a desire to dredge up the best entries of the worst little book of hand-scrawled poems I could ever dream of writing, salvageable excerpts from fiction both in progress and long-abandoned. and a smattering of whatever the hell seems to fit at any particular moment. At first blush, I was here just to focus on old, terrible verse, but I reserve the right to include...anything. Maybe everything, certainly my love of pulp novels growing garlic, the Pittsburgh Steelers and howling at the moon--both figuratively and, on rare occasions, literally.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Playing With Poetry Generators Again

  1. Greg Urbano says:

    I am going over there for sure! I was just looking at some dice in Barnes and Noble that help create stories called story cubes – http://www.barnesandnoble.com/p/toys-games-rorys-story-cubes/19950162

    Like

  2. M T McGuire says:

    Hmm… I don’t think I quite got how it worked:

    Belly: Gah… I can’t think of anything

    slowly, tremulously fearful of cracking a twig homewards
    to have I have here to get me Good even tide
    the sky is cold and drear
    a car is swollen gushing torrent

    return if I fall

    somebody Loving
    great to see you.

    Not my best work, that one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

