Quotes From The Dark Side: Paul Ryan

Because he cares….

”We’re not going to give up on destroying the health care system for the American people.”

—Rep. Paul Ryan, March 12, 2013

About JunkChuck

Native, Militant Westsylvanian (the first last best place), laborer, gardener, and literary hobbyist (if by literary you mean "hack"). I've had a bunch of different blogs, probably four, due to a recurring compulsion to start over. This incarnation owes to a desire to dredge up the best entries of the worst little book of hand-scrawled poems I could ever dream of writing, salvageable excerpts from fiction both in progress and long-abandoned. and a smattering of whatever the hell seems to fit at any particular moment. At first blush, I was here just to focus on old, terrible verse, but I reserve the right to include...anything. Maybe everything, certainly my love of pulp novels growing garlic, the Pittsburgh Steelers and howling at the moon--both figuratively and, on rare occasions, literally.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Quotes From The Dark Side: Paul Ryan

  1. M T McGuire says:

    I shouldn’t really say this, I don’t want to sound like I’m criticising America as a whole, but for those of us in countries where we pay tax for free healthcare, the American system pre Obamacare looks corrupt and barbaric in equal measure.

    Cheers

    MTM

    Like

    • JunkChuck says:

      You’re speaking the choir here–I love my country despite it’s shortcomings and hypocrisies, with no illusions. Conventional conservative wisdom is that people who don’t have health insurance just don’t work hard enough. I once mentioned to a republican that the cost of insurance at a former employer was greater than my rent, home insurance, and utilities combined and I couldn’t afford it. She rolled her eyes and said, “I suppose you sit at home doing nothing at night–you want insurance? Get a second job!” It’s better now, but, ironically, the effects of ACA will be detrimental to our family, as our employer-paid plan will be likely be knocked back from a traditional plan with co-pays–we pay $10 for each visit and insurance covers all the rest–to a “high deductable” system, which means our family will pay every penny of the first, still-to-be-negotiated, total healthcare costs–they’re talking $2500 annually. For my healthy family, this pretty much means we’ll pay ALL of our own healthcare costs for check-ups and basic care, and the insurance will only be useful to us in the event of some catastrophe. We’ve never come close to spending that much money in a year, thankfully. I’m happy to hear the a lot of people who have languished now have access to affordable plans, but the ACA is ultimately punitive personally–especially since the plans are now in place, but the government tax credits that are supposed to balance out of pocket expenses have not gone into effect. Sigh. It’s always something. I had a friend die of cancer a few years back, largely because he moved and lost his coverage then couldn’t get new insurance because of a preexisting condition. He cut back on check-ups, and by the time he was diagnosed it was too late–6 weeks later he was gone–but supposedly that won’t happen any more.

      Like

      • M T McGuire says:

        That’s harsh. If it’s any consolation, I am now un-inshurable, my knee problems started when I was 10 years old, so already the only part of me likely to need healthcare isn’t covered by anything but the NHS, not that I mind, they’re really good but it’s certainly a reason I could never go live in the US 😉 I’m sorry about your friend, it is grim. I seem to have reached the age when the Grim Reaper is busy scything off a lot of people my age, and cancer has taken the majority. I hope I manage to duck at the right time! 😉

        Cheers

        MTM

        Like

Leave a Reply

