Friday Morning Rock and Roll Idols: The Traveling Wilburys

25 years ago I snobbishly failed to appreciate how really, really great this was.

Jeff Lynne, George Harrison, Tom Petty, Roy Orbison, and Bob Dylan…

About JunkChuck

Native, Militant Westsylvanian (the first last best place), laborer, gardener, and literary hobbyist (if by literary you mean "hack"). I've had a bunch of different blogs, probably four, due to a recurring compulsion to start over. This incarnation owes to a desire to dredge up the best entries of the worst little book of hand-scrawled poems I could ever dream of writing, salvageable excerpts from fiction both in progress and long-abandoned. and a smattering of whatever the hell seems to fit at any particular moment. At first blush, I was here just to focus on old, terrible verse, but I reserve the right to include...anything. Maybe everything, certainly my love of pulp novels growing garlic, the Pittsburgh Steelers and howling at the moon--both figuratively and, on rare occasions, literally.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Friday Morning Rock and Roll Idols: The Traveling Wilburys

  1. markbialczak says:

    Yes on the Wilbury’s, certainly, Chuck. Even further back to ELO, I wish folks would give more credit to the genius of Jeff Lynne.

    Like

  2. JunkChuck says:

    I’m a big sucker for ELO–just last week I bought a digital download of “All Around the World” ELO’s greatest hits, since all their stuff I had before was on vinyl. It’s genius stuff–my first slow dance with a girl was junior high, “Can’t get it out of my head” which is sadly absent from the album I bought. Also, in 7th grade I got a cool all-in-one stereo for Christmas and a gift certificate for National Record Mart that I used to buy “Get The Knack,” ELO’s “Discovery,” and “Candy-O” by the Cars. Drunk with enthusiasm, I paid cash for Blondie’s “Eat To The Beat” as well. Great year for music. I still like all those recordings except for The Knack.

    Like

  3. beibyblu says:

    Great superband, shame they didn’t produce a couple of more albums. Had they stayed together I think they would’ve just gotten better.

    Like

Leave a Reply

