Best Damned Quotes: Thomas Love Peacock On Poets

Thomas Love Peacock“A poet in our times is a semi-barbarian in a civilized community. He lives in the days that are past. His ideas, thoughts, feelings, associations, are all with barbarous manners, obsolete customs, and exploded superstitions. The march of his intellect is like that of a crab, backward. … The highest inspirations of poetry are resolvable into three ingredients: the rant of unregulated passion, the whining of exaggerated feeling, and the cant of factitious sentiment: and can therefore serve only to ripen a splendid lunatic like Alexander, a puling driveller like Werter, or a morbid dreamer like Wordsworth.…”

–Thomas Love Peacock

….Or a fat old shit like me.  When I trouble friends and family with yet another dose of middling verse I now, having found this quote, have testimony that it’s not my fault.  I can’t help myself.  I was doomed.

About JunkChuck

Native, Militant Westsylvanian (the first last best place), laborer, gardener, and literary hobbyist (if by literary you mean "hack"). I've had a bunch of different blogs, probably four, due to a recurring compulsion to start over. This incarnation owes to a desire to dredge up the best entries of the worst little book of hand-scrawled poems I could ever dream of writing, salvageable excerpts from fiction both in progress and long-abandoned. and a smattering of whatever the hell seems to fit at any particular moment. At first blush, I was here just to focus on old, terrible verse, but I reserve the right to include...anything. Maybe everything, certainly my love of pulp novels growing garlic, the Pittsburgh Steelers and howling at the moon--both figuratively and, on rare occasions, literally.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Best Damned Quotes: Thomas Love Peacock On Poets

  1. M T McGuire says:

    Nah! Fuck him. He’s the fat old shit. 😉 Dr Johnson! There’s another one. You keep writing poems. yer man there… that’s just the spleen of someone who doesn’t get it and is afraid he’s missing out on something!

    Cheers

    MTM

    Like

  2. JunkChuck says:

    I wrap myself in Mr. Peacock’s appraisal like a General at court in all his ghastly finery–medals of honor, every word!

    Like

Leave a Reply

