Does Anyone Prefer the “Improved Posting Experience?”

I thought I was alone, but that just shows how presumption can make fools of us all.  I noticed today that Renard Moreau over at Renard Moreau Presents has been pondering the same notion:  is their anyone who thinks that the New WordPress Editor is actually an “improved posting experience?”  It’s certainly not simpler–I despise when options are hidden behind menus–give me the whole smorgasbord right where I can stick my fork in it, please.  I’ve also had a heck of a time getting used to the new-for-the-sake-of-being-new method of scheduling posts to be published later, or saving as drafts.  I’m sure I’ll get used to it eventually, by why?

What is the fascination tech geeks have with making something simple and good into something needlessly opaque and convoluted?  It reminds me of a few wildly popular authors I know who, since they’re now cash cows, have transformed from writers of taut, efficient barn burners into evil geniuses popping out ponderous thousand-page 3-book series monsters.  I’m thinking of Firefox, the slick little browser that could has been force fed functions like caged goose that it is now a ponderous, frequently crashing monolith–or Windows 8, which managed to take the most intuitive piece of mainstream software in the history of geekery and turn it into something dark, utterly impenetrable, and totally divorced from the very elements that made it so wonderfully simple to use.  I still can’t spend five minutes on my daughters Win8 machine without wanting to cry.

So, what’s the verdict.  Anyone else have strong opinions?  Thoughts?

About JunkChuck

Native, Militant Westsylvanian (the first last best place), laborer, gardener, and literary hobbyist (if by literary you mean "hack"). I've had a bunch of different blogs, probably four, due to a recurring compulsion to start over. This incarnation owes to a desire to dredge up the best entries of the worst little book of hand-scrawled poems I could ever dream of writing, salvageable excerpts from fiction both in progress and long-abandoned. and a smattering of whatever the hell seems to fit at any particular moment. At first blush, I was here just to focus on old, terrible verse, but I reserve the right to include...anything. Maybe everything, certainly my love of pulp novels growing garlic, the Pittsburgh Steelers and howling at the moon--both figuratively and, on rare occasions, literally.
This entry was posted in Commentary and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Does Anyone Prefer the “Improved Posting Experience?”

  1. I HATE the “Improved” Posting Experience. Really, you’re gonna copy Blogger and think people won’t find it more difficult than what is already there. WordPress needs to leave things alone, because what they have now has worked for years.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. megdekorne says:

    I sooooo agree with you !

    Like

  3. M T McGuire says:

    Mine doesn’t appear to have changed.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. renxkyoko says:

    I haven’t noticed any changes. But I’m tech-challenged, so you can discount my opinion. lol

    Like

  5. Pingback: Old and New WordPress Editor Screenshots | Old Road Apples

  6. JunkChuck says:

    On the surface, the old editor was black and white. The new one is blue and white. The differences that matter are in both format and functionality–I’ve put screen shots here…
    https://oldroadapples.wordpress.com/2014/09/01/old-and-new-wordpress-editor-screenshots/

    Like

  7. risinghawk says:

    The “improvements” stink – another example of fixing things that aren’t broke for the sake of change. That’s my opinion, anyway. Peace . . .

    Like

  8. kwsherwood says:

    Ok, classic mode?

    And on Microsoft … Yes, boo windows 8. But most intuitive piece of mainstream software …ever? Agree it used to be a piece. …! But more like bad to worst

    Like

    • JunkChuck says:

      Well, I technically didn’t say “ever” but I’ll hold with the basic premise. Those early versions of windows were, at least to me, relatively effortless. I made the jump from DOS relatively late, with Windows98–oh, brave new world!–and a crazy expensive, for what it was, computer from Dell that cost about $2000 and seemed at the time like a really good deal. I plugged in and pretty much mastered the system in a few hours–that was back when Windows had everything included–office products, explorer, media player…and no manual. Despite that, I was able to navigate the thing and teach myself, with everything seemingly where is should be, like when you’re in a well-engineered car and you instinctively reach out to fiddle with a control, and there it is, right where your sub-conscious wanted it to be. I never liked MAC because it seemed like some of their features were configured in a manner determined solely because Microsoft did it differently. I can’t say what the hell Microsoft is thinking with Windows 8–unless their goal was to force me to have one of my grumpy friends teach me Ubuntu when I upgrade computers next year.

      Like

  9. Marisano says:

    > I never liked MAC because it seemed like some of their features
    > were configured in a manner determined solely because Microsoft
    > did it differently.

    Except almost all of the graphical interface work up until the Ribbon appeared on Macs long before they came to Windows boxes.

    Like

  10. saratoga2015 says:

    Apparently Automattic has scant Quality Assurance or concept of UX. Proof of that is in the new dashboard which says “Blog Posts” in the PUBLISH section above Pages. Superfluous clutter! But here is my main bitch: The system presumed to change the Format of my post surreptitiously, yet evidence of that change is hidden several layers deep in the “improved” editor.

    Like

  11. Nita says:

    Its not a good experience. WordPress posting is confusing enough as it is, but now they have made it worse.

    Like

  12. gryffinkat says:

    I also HATE the “improved” posting experience!

    Like

  13. Kathy says:

    Count me as another who detests the new and improved Word Press and who thinks changing something for the sake of change is stupid.

    Like

  14. Apie says:

    I deeply hate it. Linking to a post on your own blog impossible (except when you type in the URL, in the “old” editor there is a searchable list popping up), image uploader instable (images disappear, other images get other captions), making blockquotes nearly impossible, reducing image size only with + and – in stead of pixels, and then that annoying beep beep boop. so stupid. And none of these bugs get worked on!

    Like

Leave a Reply

