What’s The Ettiquette on Re-Using Old Posts?

I started this blog at a snail’s pace–a lot of the initial posts had 2 or 3 or maybe 5 views on a very good day and some were completely ignored.  It took me a while to Just_A_Repostfigure out the give and take of community building, and now that I have a nice network of associations, acquaintances, and interactions that I enjoy and look forward to, I’m thinking I’d like to throw that stuff back out at the world.  What’s the protocol here?  Is this something, like my Uncle George used to do before reaching across someone’s plate for the cranberry sauce at Thanksgiving Dinner, “that isn’t done in the best of families?”  For argument’s sake, rest assured I’m going to do it if you don’t stop me–so please advise.

I’m nothing if not a sucker for a theme:

 

About JunkChuck

Native, Militant Westsylvanian (the first last best place), laborer, gardener, and literary hobbyist (if by literary you mean "hack"). I've had a bunch of different blogs, probably four, due to a recurring compulsion to start over. This incarnation owes to a desire to dredge up the best entries of the worst little book of hand-scrawled poems I could ever dream of writing, salvageable excerpts from fiction both in progress and long-abandoned. and a smattering of whatever the hell seems to fit at any particular moment. At first blush, I was here just to focus on old, terrible verse, but I reserve the right to include...anything. Maybe everything, certainly my love of pulp novels growing garlic, the Pittsburgh Steelers and howling at the moon--both figuratively and, on rare occasions, literally.
This entry was posted in Commentary, Journal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What’s The Ettiquette on Re-Using Old Posts?

  1. Angela says:

    Hmmm? I don’t know if there is a standard rule for that. In my humble opinion, if they are posts that haven’t had a lot of views you could bump them up by changing the posting date or make some sort of formal repost proclamation and copy a leading paragraph with a link back to the original post. The one thing that I can say sort of really turns me off is when, and this has been particularly with artists I’ve follow, a blogger keeps recycling the same posts over and over by changing the post date so as to garner more “Likes” for their posts.

    Like

  2. M T McGuire says:

    I’d just say here’s a post I did at the beginning which only five people saw, I’m posting it again because I think some of you might enjoy it and then give us a link to check it out. What I’d recommend against is doing it more than once a week. 😉 But I should think you could run a weekly series of the best of the first bits again, kind of thing. That could be fun.

    Cheers

    MTM

    Like

  3. Honie Briggs says:

    I love The Smiths. Etiquette Shmetiqutte, call it sustainability or recycling in the interest of blog/life balance. Whatever works.

    Like

Leave a Reply

