The Shortest Best Story Ever

This post originally appeared in Old Road Apples’ very first week of existence. No one noticed it. No one even read it. So, I’m giving it a chance at new life, as I will be doing with other, carefully selected posts in the coming weeks.

Image

Among the students voted “best…” and “most likely to…” for the Senior Class Personalities in my kids’ yearbooks, I noted what has to be the most flattering and impressive designation, “Talks the least. Says the Most.”  I can’t think of a higher salute from one’s peers.

Now I’m thinking about the writer Ernest Hemingway.

Hemingway was one of those “gateway writers” who collectively inspired me to study literature and read obsessively.  An early selection of my adolescence-generated prose stinks of derivation, but as I stumbled into my pretentious twenties I mocked him along with other, equally unsubtle critics.  He ate a sandwich.  It was a good, moist sandwich with meat and cheese. The cheese was yellow and good. He had eaten kind of sandwich Nick ate in Italy.  I fell in love with bombast, magical realism, what I jokingly called “maximumism.”  That passed, too, and I’ve come full circle to recognize the subtle  genius behind the man who writes the least  and says, or at least edits, the most.

My favorite story about Hemingway involves him sitting around a table, possibly at The Algonquin, with his friends, a few of whom were towering talents in their own right, and betting the house that he could write an entire story with just a few words.  His eager companions bade him put his money where he mouth (and pen) was.  Hemingway replied with a 6-word novel, hastily scribbled onto a napkin  It read:

“For sale: baby shoes.  Never worn.”

His companions read the words, probably grumbled a little, and paid the man.

About JunkChuck

Native, Militant Westsylvanian (the first last best place), laborer, gardener, and literary hobbyist (if by literary you mean "hack"). I've had a bunch of different blogs, probably four, due to a recurring compulsion to start over. This incarnation owes to a desire to dredge up the best entries of the worst little book of hand-scrawled poems I could ever dream of writing, salvageable excerpts from fiction both in progress and long-abandoned. and a smattering of whatever the hell seems to fit at any particular moment. At first blush, I was here just to focus on old, terrible verse, but I reserve the right to include...anything. Maybe everything, certainly my love of pulp novels growing garlic, the Pittsburgh Steelers and howling at the moon--both figuratively and, on rare occasions, literally.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Shortest Best Story Ever

  1. kingmidget says:

    I’ve never heard the story behind the story. But those six words are always cited as an example of just how short a story can be.

    Like

  2. histeve433 says:

    Well worth reading.

    Like

  3. Bess Jones says:

    Master of the understatement. People don’t realise quite what a skill that is. It’s all in the intent behind the words. As you say, “Talks the least, says the most”. Intent is everything.
    I like that you are recycling.

    Like

    • JunkChuck says:

      Yeh, I always talk to too much, but it’s like a compulsion. Hemingway was a genius. Recycling is just being responsible, and doing it here is a lot easier than washing out all those tin cans. (Thanks, by the way. I was oddly uncomfortable about the reposts but the encouragement made it a no brainer).

      Like

      • Bess Jones says:

        You’re most welcome. Cynicism and genius seem to go hand in hand I find. I had a friend long ago who berated Hemingway for being simple and a bore. This was someone who believed himself a great literary intellect, but couldn’t really write for toffee, insomuch as he couldn’t engage an audience with his work, despite being highly educated. That, takes something else. The fact that this friend went on to interview many famous authors over the years, but never managed to publish one single novel he wrote, to me speaks volumes. So, it isn’t about what you know, but how you use what you know. Not the same at all.

        Like

  4. M T McGuire says:

    Yeh. That’s very cool.

    Like

Leave a Reply

