Sunday Evening is Pizza Night–I Dare You to Make a Pizza

The Make a Pizza Night Post will appear Sunday around 7pm–at which point this sentence will turn into a link

The Steelers play a late game on Sunday, so we’re making pizza from scratch.  I dare you to join me.  I double dog dare you.  Nobody says no to a double dog dare!  Make a pizza and post a link in the comments section of the PIZZA POST which will appear on this blog around 7pm on Sunday, October 26.  Plenty of time to go shopping.  Now, if you just can’t do it, no matter how much you want to, no matter how long it’s been your dream–I understand.  Send out for a pizza, or cook up a frozen pizza, snap a picture, post it on the web–your blog, your facebook page, twitter, tumblr, stumblr, mumblr, tattoo it on aunt sally’s…oh, you get the idea.

It’s this easy.

SAM_0488 SAM_0491

About JunkChuck

Native, Militant Westsylvanian (the first last best place), laborer, gardener, and literary hobbyist (if by literary you mean "hack"). I've had a bunch of different blogs, probably four, due to a recurring compulsion to start over. This incarnation owes to a desire to dredge up the best entries of the worst little book of hand-scrawled poems I could ever dream of writing, salvageable excerpts from fiction both in progress and long-abandoned. and a smattering of whatever the hell seems to fit at any particular moment. At first blush, I was here just to focus on old, terrible verse, but I reserve the right to include...anything. Maybe everything, certainly my love of pulp novels growing garlic, the Pittsburgh Steelers and howling at the moon--both figuratively and, on rare occasions, literally.
This entry was posted in Photo I Took and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sunday Evening is Pizza Night–I Dare You to Make a Pizza

  1. evelinamarie says:

    it is so easy but then I sat at my grandma’s knee and watched and learned. if you don’t feel like making the crust from scratch, pick up the dough at a local pizza joint you like and when you come home just spread it out in a lightly oiled pan with your favorite toppings and bake till done. Look online for a few classic Italian pizza toppings – you don’t know what your’re missing. Enjoy the game!!

    Like

    • JunkChuck says:

      When I was a kid my mom would buy those pizza in a box kits from Appian Way with the different packets of dough mix (just add water), dried cheese product, and a can of sauce when she’d go out and we had a babysitter. I’m sure the babysitters were like “what? shit, thanks a whole lot” about having to cook. When I got a kitchen of my own, I nostalgically started buying those kits from Chef Boy Ar Dee, but quickly realized I could do better on my own. Now, 20 years and hundreds of pies later, I am a God of Pizza. I’m envious of learning at grandma’s knee. Alas, the grandmother who lived nearest to me was a waspish middle-class madmen-esque housewife who mixed a mean martini but couldn’t cook anything beyond the big red Betty Crocker cookbook, not if her life depended upon it.

      Like

      • evelinamarie says:

        A few years ago I had the opportunity to reunite with my Aunts, Uncles, cousins and their children in our family village Torre del Greco – a beautiful town south of Naples. Looking from their terrace i could see Capri and Sorrento. From the other side i could see Mt. Vesuvius. She had a small blood orange and lemon orchard behind the house and a few feet away, a traditional stone pizza oven. The sites, the scents and the pizza made the same way with the same simple ingredients prepared the same way for generations was a incomparable experience. The love and laughter we shared along a few bottles of local wine kept us at the table long after the sunset, the older folks nodding off a bit here and there, toddlers falling fast asleep in their mother’s lap.

        Like

  2. kingmidget says:

    Does it count if I make my pizza Saturday night?

    Like

Leave a Reply

