The Old Road Apples Reader, Volume 1

When I hit the internet I generally become distracted and start reading things I never set out to read, while not reading a lot of the stuff I’d like to read.  I set book marks on blog posts and articles I’ve opened in windows and don’t have the time to consume, collecting thousands of them over time.  Many of them turn out to have better headlines and leads than the writing deserves, but I read a lot of really good stuff that deserves to be shared.  The Old Road Apples Reader will be the vehicle for that sharing–expect it sporadically at first, until it either settles into a regular rhythm or until I get bored with it.

This issue’s selection:
On Being a Black Male, Six Feet Four Inches Tall, in America in 2014
W. Kamau Bell in Vanity Fair

Chuck’s comments:  Over Thanksgiving I was talking to a few of my nephews from Virginia and North Carolina about race and culture–a discussion that began with my disgusted railing over the stubborn fetishism of some people, northern and southern alike, for the confederate battle flag, specifically a giant flag raised near Fredericksburg, Virginia on a fenced off lot along Interstate 95.  Predictably, one of these fine young men raised the “southern culture” thing, which I countered with, “and that’s what you want as a symbol of your culture?  You do know Nazi iconography is illegal in Germany.”  He reminded me of the first amendment, but I just shrugged.  “I didn’t say they couldn’t fly it. It’s better off we know what they stand for.”  As for that giant flag, fenced in to ward off those who might destroy it, two words came to mind: flaming arrows.

The conversation then turned to my serious questions about Richmond, a city where I’ve visited by only briefly, and the the small, rural community in North Carolina where my 5500_i-m-not-racist-plasma-other nephews live.  Specifically: how did people get along?  And by people I mean black people and white people.  I’d come to this realization, I explained, “For all of my progressivism, I’m stuck with these preconceptions, especially when I find myself a racial minority in a certain situation: I get a little nervous, mostly because I expect to be disliked, distrusted.  If I was black, I’m fairly sure I wouldn’t like me.  On principle–a bullshit bit of reasoning, but still….”

I tried to explain it, and it eventually came to me “I don’t trust my perspective,” I said.  “Fear, guilt, paranoia, limited experience–it’s one thing to say “this is what I believe” but it’s quite another to shake off that baggage.”

That said, perhaps the heaviest baggage we carry today as a nation is the inability–and in many cases, the unwillingness–to talk freely and openly–and the way this lack of 1013communication makes it impossible to understand different perspectives than our own.  I often think of a small, jewish lesbian woman I know who confided in me once that her “worst moment” was a time when she was walking near the University of Pennsylvania after dark, watching a large, young black man, his face lost in the shadows, ambling towards her up the sidewalk.  She related how every ounce of her wanted to cross the street, or run, but only a determined willful refusal to reveal her fear–and a very personal experience with bigotry in her own life- kept her walking, pretending not to watch the man’s every move right up to the point where, as they passed, he smiled and said, “Good evening, ma’am.”

As worst moments go, that’s not so awful, but it’s indicative of the feelings and fears and thoughts and preconceptions so many of us carry into our interactions.

end-racial-profilingIt’s a luxury that I get to worry that some deeply buried racial awkwardness corrodes my perceptions.  It is almost impossible for me to imagine, on the other hand, what it feels like knowing–knowing!–that one’s life could be forfeit on the basis of one minor misunderstanding, or one encounter with an adrenaline-soaked psychotic with a badge, a gun, and the utter surety that, whatever he does, there will be no consequences.

I found the referenced article to be illuminating.

http://www.vanityfair.com/online/daily/2014/11/w-kamau-bell-black-in-america

See also:
http://www.africanglobe.net/headlines/61-percent-black-americans-race-relations-worse/

 

 

About JunkChuck

Native, Militant Westsylvanian (the first last best place), laborer, gardener, and literary hobbyist (if by literary you mean "hack"). I've had a bunch of different blogs, probably four, due to a recurring compulsion to start over. This incarnation owes to a desire to dredge up the best entries of the worst little book of hand-scrawled poems I could ever dream of writing, salvageable excerpts from fiction both in progress and long-abandoned. and a smattering of whatever the hell seems to fit at any particular moment. At first blush, I was here just to focus on old, terrible verse, but I reserve the right to include...anything. Maybe everything, certainly my love of pulp novels growing garlic, the Pittsburgh Steelers and howling at the moon--both figuratively and, on rare occasions, literally.
This entry was posted in Commentary and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Old Road Apples Reader, Volume 1

  1. reocochran says:

    I know exactly how this gets started and when we need to stop it. I sometimes feel I need to explain myself, but realize if someone knows me, I am open-minded, etc. and yet, I feel the need to defend myself to others who don’t care. This was a valuable post, it made me think.

    Like

  2. kingmidget says:

    I had to go to a birthday party yesterday evening. It was a party for a neighbor — he just turned 21 and his parents were throwing him a party. Complete with buffet, cupcakes, presents, etc. I’m still trying to figure out when it became a “thing” for parents to do this for their kids. I always thought 21 was about when you go out and gamble and get drunk with your friends. So, anyway, I was already annoyed that I was there. And, then, I realized just how much I don’t, and never really have, like this kid. As the evening was wrapping up and he had opened numerous gifts based around a hunting them (like the blanket with deer on it — I mean, really, this is a guy who wants to go out and hunt deer and you give him a blanket with deer on it?), I realized what it was that bothers me so much. I live in California, he has spent just about his entire life in California. Born here, raised here. And, yet, he finds it necessary to drive around with a Confederate flag flapping in the back of his pickup truck. I’m sorry, but I want nothing to do with anybody who thinks that’s appropriate.

    You are right about our greatest weakness as a country and society, and I see it getting worse instead of better. Yeah, there is a lot more diversity that is welcomed in a lot of places, but the actual dialogue about all of this? It’s a whole lot of noise and people yelling past each other. We have become more and more entrenched in our positions and beliefs and less willing to consider the other side.

    Like

Leave a Reply

