It’s Gandalf Weekend: Part 1

It’s the middle of the freaking winter. I’m finishing my novel, among a million other things, so why not?  I need posts, man.  I need ’em bad.

When I was a kid I would have thought long and hard about admitting to someone that I loved Tolkien books–Dragons and Wizards and Elves and whatnot weren’t  the sort of thing I brought up in the locker room after football practice, you know.  But now they’ve got movies that made billions and action figures and internet memes and stuff so…um…oh, yeah: Suck it, it’s Gandalf Week.

He’s like your grandfather, if your grandfather was a demi-god with a magic staff and crazy powers and a really, really wild hat. He’s contemplative, but he’s a man of action.  He took the King’s favorite horse and there was nothing the King could do about it. You know you love this guy, and you’ll miss him now that he’s gone.

18bi73onbovvrjpg

About JunkChuck

Native, Militant Westsylvanian (the first last best place), laborer, gardener, and literary hobbyist (if by literary you mean "hack"). I've had a bunch of different blogs, probably four, due to a recurring compulsion to start over. This incarnation owes to a desire to dredge up the best entries of the worst little book of hand-scrawled poems I could ever dream of writing, salvageable excerpts from fiction both in progress and long-abandoned. and a smattering of whatever the hell seems to fit at any particular moment. At first blush, I was here just to focus on old, terrible verse, but I reserve the right to include...anything. Maybe everything, certainly my love of pulp novels growing garlic, the Pittsburgh Steelers and howling at the moon--both figuratively and, on rare occasions, literally.
This entry was posted in Photo I Like, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s Gandalf Weekend: Part 1

  1. I have been coming randomly across Gandalf quotes online. He’s got lots of wisdom to share! One of those quotes is: “All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to us.” Yes, grandad did good with that one!

    Like

  2. Pingback: It’s Gandalf Weekend Part 1b. | Old Road Apples

  3. Pingback: It’s Gandalf Weekend: Part 2 | Old Road Apples

  4. bellucci56 says:

    Very cool to see the young’uns (including the ones in my house) latching onto Gandalf. Tradition would have that he is a “second half of life” hero and that Robert E. Howard would be providing all the heroics that the youth would want. At least that’s the way it played for me. Good stuff. Whatever it takes to survive January.

    Like

Leave a Reply

