Thanks, Katy.

Is there anyone reading that didn’t get a kick out of this?  (Speak out, defend yourself!) It was outstanding to see a splash of pop art weirdness smack dab in the midst of a typically overwrought, overproduced, lip-synced morass of distractions.  I admit to appreciating the sense of wink-at-the-camera humor Katy Perry has injected into her stage persona (cue the video for “Roar”), but even this exceeded my expectations.  Still wondering why they let Missy Elliot steal 3 minutes of stage time–I know most folks don’t agree, my facebook page is full of youngsters–the “red bull generation”– gushing over her piece, but there’s little I find more insipid than mass produced pop pseudo-rap.  If these young Divas want to really get some “street cred” (I feel ridiculous just writing that) maybe they ought to trot out Wu-Tang Clan.

kp1

Oh, look–a gif!

giphy

 

About JunkChuck

Native, Militant Westsylvanian (the first last best place), laborer, gardener, and literary hobbyist (if by literary you mean "hack"). I've had a bunch of different blogs, probably four, due to a recurring compulsion to start over. This incarnation owes to a desire to dredge up the best entries of the worst little book of hand-scrawled poems I could ever dream of writing, salvageable excerpts from fiction both in progress and long-abandoned. and a smattering of whatever the hell seems to fit at any particular moment. At first blush, I was here just to focus on old, terrible verse, but I reserve the right to include...anything. Maybe everything, certainly my love of pulp novels growing garlic, the Pittsburgh Steelers and howling at the moon--both figuratively and, on rare occasions, literally.
This entry was posted in Commentary and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thanks, Katy.

  1. Very Bangled says:

    I would not say no to a Wutang half time. But I do like Missy Elliot a lot. Also, I think she provided Katy Perry a moment for a costume change.

    Like

  2. So colourful and totally Katy Perry! I thought the giant lion was really cool 🙂

    Like

  3. kingmidget says:

    I don’t know …. I’m not much of a fan of Katy Perry and the overwrought sets and clothes and costumes and dance numbers modern pop stars seem to need around them. Hmmm … is it all to serve as a distraction so people don’t realize their is a serious lack of talent? Or maybe I’m just officially an old man.

    Like

  4. M T McGuire says:

    I’d probably loathe the song but the costumes look fun. So nice to see a female star who appears to be about something more than ‘im gorgeous… Much more gorgeous than you! Oh and sometimes I sing’. I haven’t bought or listened to anything main stream for years. Not a big fan of over production.

    Cheers

    MTM

    Like

Leave a Reply

