Want To Save Some Elephants? Here’s How–It’s Pretty Cool, Too.

I was going to put a photo of a poached elephant, shot dead and hacked with a machete some monster used to removed it’s tusks, but it’s too disturbing and I don’t see the point in piling cruelty upon cruelty. I’d encourage you to look for yourself, however, because it’s something you won’t soon forget. I’m not much of a bleeding heart–I eat pig and cow with relish (and ketchup, steak sauce, whatever works), and I’m not even passionate about circus animals, whose captivity I believe helps their species as ambassadors of a sort–as well as deepening the genetic diversity. But elephants, like cetaceans, are a special case–they’ve got a lot of brain behind those eyes, and clearly a lot going on in there as well. I’m not sure I believe in karma except as a self-fulfilling force, but I’m absolutely certain that what humanity reaps, as a society, from the wholesale slaughter of creatures whose intelligence, however alien it might seem, could rival ours, isn’t going to be pretty.

20150114105714-poaching_stats_map

And it’s not getting better, it’s getting worse.  Forty thousand were lost last year.  That sucks.

https://www.facebook.com/AirShepherd

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/air-shepherd-drones-stop-elephant-rhino-poaching

About JunkChuck

Native, Militant Westsylvanian (the first last best place), laborer, gardener, and literary hobbyist (if by literary you mean "hack"). I've had a bunch of different blogs, probably four, due to a recurring compulsion to start over. This incarnation owes to a desire to dredge up the best entries of the worst little book of hand-scrawled poems I could ever dream of writing, salvageable excerpts from fiction both in progress and long-abandoned. and a smattering of whatever the hell seems to fit at any particular moment. At first blush, I was here just to focus on old, terrible verse, but I reserve the right to include...anything. Maybe everything, certainly my love of pulp novels growing garlic, the Pittsburgh Steelers and howling at the moon--both figuratively and, on rare occasions, literally.
This entry was posted in Commentary and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Want To Save Some Elephants? Here’s How–It’s Pretty Cool, Too.

  1. CC says:

    I actually cannot watch things like this, well you read my blog. But thank you for this post. I also believe what happens to elephants is cruel and lacking in humanity. ❤

    Like

  2. It’s disturbing. The majority of elephants in Africa are gone and not only is that awful the way they are being slaughtered but it’s going to have devastating effects on the whole ecological system. What will it take for all of this to stop when it shouldn’t have started in the first place…

    Like

  3. Whenever there’s profit involved, everything else seems to give way. Sigh…

    Like

  4. leggypeggy says:

    Poaching is heartbreaking. I’m in India now, constantly confronted with the poaching of tigers for body parts. How can we teach the world to stop these practices?

    Like

Leave a Reply

