Targeted Advertising Part 1: The Rant

One of my many pet peeves–and likely one of yours–are those customized advertisements that show up on web sites we visit, trying to sell us stuff that we looked at on other web sites while really just reminding us it’s time to clean out our cache files.

Cheap, sexed-up stunt photo unabashedly employed to score a few extra hits.  Also, a really cute bra--bet it's uncomfortable as hell.

Cheap, sexed-up stunt photo unabashedly employed to score a few extra hits. Also, a really cute bra–bet it’s uncomfortable as hell.

I wouldn’t care so much if it was stuff I actually wanted to buy, but I’m not a profoundly vigorous shopper and I don’t generally look at commercial web pages unless I have a specific need.  If I look up socks, for example, the odds are pretty high that I’m going to buy some socks somewhere before I sign off.

Why is it, then, that when I do buy those socks I am forced to look at entirely worthless ads for the socks I just damn bought yesterday.  At no time do I need socks less than in the day or so after I just bought socks.  I haven’t even bothered to throw the old socks into the rag box yet.

Today I was looking at steel roofing for my garage--not as provocative as bras, but still pretty appealing, especially if you've got two leaks and a couple of soft spots.

Today I was looking at steel roofing for my garage–not as provocative as bras, but still pretty appealing, especially if you’ve got two leaks and a couple of soft spots.

And now I’m inundated by boobs.  Boobs everywhere.  Why?  Because last week my wife bought a couple of bras on my computer and I haven’t run my CCleaner in the intervening days.  I just wanted to rant on that–and it’s also funny to say “boobs.”  It’s such a funny word for one of the core components of the universe, without which our entire species would have died out centuries ago (or mutated into something unrecognizable as human, thanks to all the “better living through chemisty” components in baby formula.  And yet: boobs.  It’s like naming an athlete named “Milton” or a genius called “Kevin.”

About JunkChuck

Native, Militant Westsylvanian (the first last best place), laborer, gardener, and literary hobbyist (if by literary you mean "hack"). I've had a bunch of different blogs, probably four, due to a recurring compulsion to start over. This incarnation owes to a desire to dredge up the best entries of the worst little book of hand-scrawled poems I could ever dream of writing, salvageable excerpts from fiction both in progress and long-abandoned. and a smattering of whatever the hell seems to fit at any particular moment. At first blush, I was here just to focus on old, terrible verse, but I reserve the right to include...anything. Maybe everything, certainly my love of pulp novels growing garlic, the Pittsburgh Steelers and howling at the moon--both figuratively and, on rare occasions, literally.
This entry was posted in Commentary and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Targeted Advertising Part 1: The Rant

  1. Eye is something to stay: D

    Like

Leave a Reply

