The Golden Fish Failure

Golden-Fish03

I could have used this photo–the fish is more golden, and has the kind of grumpy expression I usually wear, but it lacks the irony of the pretty bikini girl holding a dead fish. And it lacks the bikini girl, which isn’t a minor thing.

I have nothing ready that’s not a picture or a a joke or some other form of acquired content, and I want my own words here because, frankly, I’ve been coasting through blogville a bit, distracted by other interests and–worse–responsibilities.  I’m also deeply disappointed in the lack of interest generated (or not generated) by my previous post, The Golden Fish Award.  I thought it was pretty damned funny on a couple of levels, but it just lay there in the blogwater, like a dead fish.  I don’t know if it’s my sense of humor that’s askew, or yours, but–well–for the sake of argument, let’s blame you. I’ve very disappointed in you, in fact, and I finally understand that whole “when bad things happen to good people” schtick.  I thought it was a metaphor, but it’s more than that;  I feel, you know, violated.  By your lack of attention.  I may cry.

About JunkChuck

Native, Militant Westsylvanian (the first last best place), laborer, gardener, and literary hobbyist (if by literary you mean "hack"). I've had a bunch of different blogs, probably four, due to a recurring compulsion to start over. This incarnation owes to a desire to dredge up the best entries of the worst little book of hand-scrawled poems I could ever dream of writing, salvageable excerpts from fiction both in progress and long-abandoned. and a smattering of whatever the hell seems to fit at any particular moment. At first blush, I was here just to focus on old, terrible verse, but I reserve the right to include...anything. Maybe everything, certainly my love of pulp novels growing garlic, the Pittsburgh Steelers and howling at the moon--both figuratively and, on rare occasions, literally.
This entry was posted in Commentary. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Golden Fish Failure

  1. MPHIX says:

    It’s ok, I’m here now…heh. Now to read your previous post…

    Like

  2. I’m here now, late as per usual… do NOT cry about a blog post, please!!

    Like

  3. CC says:

    hahahahahaaaaaaaaa…I actually loved your idea for the dead fish..but I find your sub-title for your dead fish pic on this one hysterical…although it does lack the bikini girl…but I remember said bikini girl..all is well.. 🙂

    Like

  4. Kate Loveton says:

    To quote Leslie Gore (sorta), it’s your blog and you can cry if you wanna! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

