2015 Summer Wonders #20: Die Yuppie Scum

This is the one my wife has been waiting for, after more than a few instructive jabs about the preponderance of bathing-suited ladies amongst the summer wonders.  A little equity where it’s due, eh?

Funny how the photos turn up–indeed, this series was originally called “found summer photos” but I liked “summer wonders” better.  I used to have a bumper sticker on a super-cool 1980 Ford Station wagon, the original “Chuckwagon,” that read “DIE YUPPIE SCUM.”  The other day I googled the phrase and found this picture, called “die yuppie scum” by Brenda Ann Kenneally.  Best of all, Ms Kenneally has made a bunch of thematically relevant photos, so I may go to her well again.

Die Yuppie Scum: Miami Beach 1992- 1995

Die Yuppie Scum: Miami Beach 1992- 1995

 

About JunkChuck

Native, Militant Westsylvanian (the first last best place), laborer, gardener, and literary hobbyist (if by literary you mean "hack"). I've had a bunch of different blogs, probably four, due to a recurring compulsion to start over. This incarnation owes to a desire to dredge up the best entries of the worst little book of hand-scrawled poems I could ever dream of writing, salvageable excerpts from fiction both in progress and long-abandoned. and a smattering of whatever the hell seems to fit at any particular moment. At first blush, I was here just to focus on old, terrible verse, but I reserve the right to include...anything. Maybe everything, certainly my love of pulp novels growing garlic, the Pittsburgh Steelers and howling at the moon--both figuratively and, on rare occasions, literally.
This entry was posted in Photo I Like, summer photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 2015 Summer Wonders #20: Die Yuppie Scum

  1. Cara says:

    Lifelong resident of Brooklyn, NY. Grew up seeing fat guys named Tony parade themselves on Manhattan beach (which is located here in Brooklyn) in everything from banana hammocks to bathing trunks & wife beater undershirt combos. And I HATE the fact that the goddamn hipsters (those people who took over Williamsburg and have barbecues where zero meat is grilled) are out here in the summer in their pants with suspenders, on the beach in their Sperry boat shoes (who the fuck wears shoes on a beach?!) changing the texture and tone of the place I call home. End of rant.

    Like

  2. Tricia says:

    That’s hilarious, nice way to start my morning! 😉

    Like

  3. Sarah says:

    That’s one hot piece of equity! Your wife is a wise woman!!!

    Like

  4. That’s right: Die Yuppie Scum!

    Like

  5. reocochran says:

    1980 I had an old green Hornet. It was manual and drove me crazy on hills. I had one baby in 1980. I liked your bumper sticker. Never was fond of Yuppies. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

