I Hate This Fucking Thing

imapsusa_2269_10880736Symbols. I should respond to them with a clearer head. I’m a smart guy, I know some things, like the way symbols work to galvanize allies and adversaries in their causes. Especially flags.  Especially in this country. A few days ago I posted about the inanity of both flag-burning and opposing flag burning, and I stand by those arguments–but I have to admit that, this morning, I could burn confederate flag. I could set its polyester weave on fire and stomp on it while it burned. And smile. I’d savor it.

Screenshot_3

I have a bunch of relatives who live in the south–their parents, my wife’s sisters, are carpetbaggers in the parlance of the culture, not deeply ingrained in the redneck ethos, but some of my nephews feel the pull. We had a discussion around Christmas about the controversial giant rebel flag along I95 south of Fredericksburg, Virginia–my take being that it was a highly offensive symbol of oppression and sedition. They countered with the “aw, unclc Chuck–you just don’t understand, it’s a southern thing.”

It is not a southern thing.  It is an ignorant hayseed thing that, while it may be embraced by a small army of lazy-minded Buttheads who think it is cool because it’s, “you know, dude, rebellious” it is historically the battle flag of domestic enemy, the goal of which was to destroy the United States of America and maintain an economic system based on the violent subjugation of human beings. Southerners can singsong all they want about gentility and mint juleps. but the glorious past they wistfully celebrate was a feudal nightmare of petty, tyrannical lords and ladies presiding over enslaved Africans and a largely uneducated, poverty-struck underclass of white tenants and laborers.  And that’s the irony of it: most of the yahoos who idealize the glorious confederate past are descended from folks whose conditions were no better than the black folks they hated so much.

A few words pop into my mind when I see that rebel flag: IDIOT, IGNORANT, STUPID, and TRAITOR. And today, I’m done looking the other way and shaking my head at people whom I have, for the most part, given a free pass on this shit because of their mental and social defects. Maybe it will get my ass kicked, maybe it will get me shot, but I’m ready to do some finger pointing and calling out, and I urge you to do the same: when you see a rebel flag, look the owner in the eye and call ’em a racist Un-American piece of shit.

About JunkChuck

Native, Militant Westsylvanian (the first last best place), laborer, gardener, and literary hobbyist (if by literary you mean "hack"). I've had a bunch of different blogs, probably four, due to a recurring compulsion to start over. This incarnation owes to a desire to dredge up the best entries of the worst little book of hand-scrawled poems I could ever dream of writing, salvageable excerpts from fiction both in progress and long-abandoned. and a smattering of whatever the hell seems to fit at any particular moment. At first blush, I was here just to focus on old, terrible verse, but I reserve the right to include...anything. Maybe everything, certainly my love of pulp novels growing garlic, the Pittsburgh Steelers and howling at the moon--both figuratively and, on rare occasions, literally.
This entry was posted in Commentary and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I Hate This Fucking Thing

  1. I posted something opposing the flying of the stars and bars, asking why it was acceptable to fly it, but not the Swastika. Some people misunderstood me and thought I was celebrating the Swastika. Others gave me a history lesson of the Confederate flag, and it’s rich history, ignoring the fact that whatever it may have once meant, it now meant redneck asshole and racist and the KKK. I said that if a black person sees someone waving the Stars & Bars, they don’t stop and think about its use of St. Andrew’s Cross, like in the flag of Scotland, no more than when a Jewish person sees a Swastika and assumes the person waving it is using the ancient Hindu symbol of the Brahman. I got a lot of the same redneck arguments about it being a southern thang, and then I got worse — I got threatening responses from hate groups whose websites should be declared a hate crime. If people want to embrace “Southern Culture” how about celebrating Mark Twain, William Faulkner, Flannery O’Conner, Zydeco music, Robert Johnson, R.E.M., Anne Rice.
    To any and all Southerners reading this — I’m very sorry that a symbol that you hold dear has been usurped by racists and murderers as a badge of white pride, but it has. It really has. So you have to decide how important it is for you to wave this symbol — which to everyone but you means hatred and slavery.

    Like

    • JunkChuck says:

      The confederate flag, however much a gaggle of ignorant cracker revisionists want to romanticize it, is historically the battle flag of the Army of Tennessee, and as such is the icon of a seditious, domestic enemy on par with traitorous cowards like Richard Reid and Timothy McVeigh. I’ll stand toe to toe with any ignoramus who spouts more of that southern culture excrement, and shove it right back down their fetal alcohol syndrome-stunted throats. Ignore the bullies–think of my favorite quote from Deadwood’s Sheriff Bullock, “”Can’t shut up! Every bully I ever met can’t just shut his fucking mouth! Except when he’s afraid.”

      Liked by 1 person

  2. CC says:

    Well, I had to look this up because I thought they lowered it, actually, which had disturbed me greatly.
    It disturbs me more that they lowered the Palmetto flag and the US flag and continued to fly this one higher. WP says it is a legal issue and can only be decided by Assembly vote. Disgusting. Should have taken it down immediately. Will not happen in SC.
    Great post. I read your flag burning post again, I forgot I read it before. I agree with flag burning, which is not popular, but you made excellent points against it.
    This entire thing is heart breaking to me. In WV, where I grew up, it is kind of tough. It straddles north and south but most consider themselves southerners. I would say definitely upbringing is southern. The Confederate flag is seen readily there. My “favorite” is when it is used for curtains in trailers. *eye roll* It really depends on the area you live as to how you feel about it. I also hate it.
    I once called Charleston, SC my home when I needed one most and this has grieved me to the point I don’t have words yet. I am going to have to write about it.
    Thanks for this post. xx -CC

    Like

  3. Shalom says:

    I agree with every fucking word of your post. Take that racist rag down and burn it.

    Like

  4. 1. Replace the flag
    2. Rename the Washington Redskins
    3. Edge a little closer to 21st century values and mores

    Like

Leave a Reply

