Cruz Vs. Clinton

Screenshot_10I was laughing when I lifted this from Twitter, planning to include it with the other funny posts I referenced in a post of #tedcruzcampaignslogans, but the more I thought about it the more I thought: this ticket would be ideal.

First and foremost, these two aren’t the idiots most of us think they are–oh, they’re simple enough, but the characteristics we deride as stupidity and are actually cynacism.  Politicians like Cruz, and sideshow performers like Palin, know their target demographic: older, conservative, poorly educated, resentful white people.  Their strategy is to rile up the disaffected, rally the numbers, and ride the wave. Cruz wants power, but (bristle if you want, it’s true:) Palin makes millions by running her mouth and posturing; as a candidate she would need to woo moderates and delivers possible solutions–it’s easier to just keep ranting and count the money as it flows in.

That said, despite a field of abrasive, much-loathed contenders like Wisconsin’s Scott Walker and wingnutty Rand Paul, who spits more poison than a cobra, the Republicans have a significant advantage: malaise.

Screenshot_8

Hillary is almost a foregone conclusion as the Democratic candidate, and will remain so until some dark horse can buck the political machine and work her way to the top by  coloring outside the line. That horse isn’t coming from Vermont. This is Hillary’s time, and while I supported her enthusiastically against President Obama back in 2008, I really no longer give a single damn.  She would probably make a good enough President, if she could bust through the Obama model of opacity and ponderous bureaucracy and lead in a manner that seems or, better still, actually is hands-on and engaged.

Even if she did that, I’m not sure I’ll be interested.  Ms. Clinton has been at the forefront of current events for 23 years and counting, for good and for ill.  Maybe it is just me, but I’m not feeling a rush.  If anything, I’m dreading the next election cycle, the relentless negativity that has become genetically linked with national politics, the endless posturing to niche groups and special interests, and the fear of provoking the same, that all but eliminates productive debate from either side.

Screenshot_9A Cruz candidacy virtually assures the early segments of the campaign will be lively–there’s no telling what will come out of his mouth, and the outrage should be both palpable and engendering of a certain electrical charge that might just awaken people.  Of course, should he emerge from convention season, nomination in hand, we’ll see Cruz dial things way back in a determined effort to win centrist and undecided voters.

 

About JunkChuck

Native, Militant Westsylvanian (the first last best place), laborer, gardener, and literary hobbyist (if by literary you mean "hack"). I've had a bunch of different blogs, probably four, due to a recurring compulsion to start over. This incarnation owes to a desire to dredge up the best entries of the worst little book of hand-scrawled poems I could ever dream of writing, salvageable excerpts from fiction both in progress and long-abandoned. and a smattering of whatever the hell seems to fit at any particular moment. At first blush, I was here just to focus on old, terrible verse, but I reserve the right to include...anything. Maybe everything, certainly my love of pulp novels growing garlic, the Pittsburgh Steelers and howling at the moon--both figuratively and, on rare occasions, literally.
This entry was posted in Commentary and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cruz Vs. Clinton

  1. I certainly would like Cruz to win the Rep Primaries, and I hope if he did win, he’d get Palin as his runningmate. It would be the best presidential campaign ever ,

    Liked by 1 person

  2. CC says:

    I agree. For some reason, I was behind a Hillary nod in ’08 not Obama. But, I backed Obama in against Romney mainly because of Ryan. Believing him. After watching them both, Hillary and Obama, I am convinced they are as much Republican, as they are out for themselves only.
    I also feel that Palin is much smarter than people give her credit for. Crazy, yes. But a smart crazy. I am at a stand off because I won’t vote for Hillary. I won’t do it this time. I won’t vote for anyone in the run so far Repubican, I don’t know I ever could at this point the rate they are going. I think Sanders is good. He is an idealist. Being one myself he would need someone to balance him out. But, if Hillary is the one she won’t have a vote from me. I think Obama failed us. I dread these elections. I wish I could say I don’t give a damn. There will be comedy, I suppose. There already is, in some ways. To me, I am fearful of the country just imploding.
    Sigh…I am going to leave it up to you to keep me updated.. no pressure. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

