1000 Posts.

1000th anniversary

So, yeah. A thousand posts–this blog wasn’t supposed to be that way, as those of you who’ve been around a while know. But, I didn’t grow up to be as my mother hoped and she still loves me, despite everything. There has been a lot less poetry and original writing than I’d hoped, but I should have known that starting a blog and writing a novel at the same time aren’t always mutually sustainable activities. I share stuff with you instead–photographs, memes, songs….

Old Road Apples has evolved considerably since that first, miserable placeholder post with the clowns.

I hope a few of you actually like what I fling in your direction, and aren’t just in it for the click-backs. I’d understand if you are, but keep it to yourself. Allow me to continue to live the illusion. And at the risk of sounding self-important, at this point I’d like to thank anyone who reads this for what feels like an accomplishment to me– one of my objectives here was to do something sustained, which I thought would require more of an effort. In practice, it has been the easiest part, posting for you and then seeing what you’re up to. Pretty cool, eh?

So, here’s to another 1000 posts….who’s going to be here in another 18 months? All of you, I hope.

About JunkChuck

Native, Militant Westsylvanian (the first last best place), laborer, gardener, and literary hobbyist (if by literary you mean "hack"). I've had a bunch of different blogs, probably four, due to a recurring compulsion to start over. This incarnation owes to a desire to dredge up the best entries of the worst little book of hand-scrawled poems I could ever dream of writing, salvageable excerpts from fiction both in progress and long-abandoned. and a smattering of whatever the hell seems to fit at any particular moment. At first blush, I was here just to focus on old, terrible verse, but I reserve the right to include...anything. Maybe everything, certainly my love of pulp novels growing garlic, the Pittsburgh Steelers and howling at the moon--both figuratively and, on rare occasions, literally.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to 1000 Posts.

  1. My first post was terribly sucky, but I laughed at your clowns! Congratulations! No one ever thinks they’ll get this far.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kingmidget says:

    Don’t even want to think of what my first post was. Probably way too serious and earnest.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Erika Kind says:

    Congratulations! It is always amazing to look back and see how the blog as evolved. We need to grow into this blogging thingy and get inspired from all sides. That’s what makes our blog in the end 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Congrats. That js quite a milestone. Yet to break 100 here, so 1 000 seems a very long way away. Well done that shows dedication.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Congrats on 1000 posts! 🎉 that’s pretty impressive!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. BunKaryudo says:

    Wow, now that’s a lot of candles on a cake!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Carrie Rubin says:

    1000 posts? Wow, impressive. I’ve barely cleared 200. But I only post 2-4 times a month. Just no time for more, not to mention keeping up with others. Cheers to your productivity!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. chirose says:

    Congratulations.!! Felicidades.!! What a milestone 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. aFrankAngle says:

    Congratulations … but a 1000 posts in 2 1/2 years … how many posts do you do per day?

    Liked by 1 person

    • JunkChuck says:

      I upped the ante over the past year and aimed for two–a lot are pretty “lite,” found photos and such. In truth, I’m more proud at the longevity in terms of months than the # of posts, and of the cool people I’ve “met” here along the way.

      Like

  10. CC says:

    Congrats! You should be proud…I love the people who shove their phone in my face and show me funny stuff. Your blog is that and comes with lots of extras. Much love..CC

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Mummy Tries says:

    Wow 1000 posts is a huge milestone, Congrats! A fair few bloggers have dropped off the scene since I started writing mine in May 2013. It’s the cycle of life my friend! Hope you’re well 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. DanicaPiche says:

    Congratulations on your first 1000 posts! I’m looking forward to the next 1000 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  13. cheflauracerullo says:

    Ah-mazing. 🙂 I’m so glad I’m found your blog – you have a follower in me! Your writing is very stark, yet ethereal; it comes alive in your linguistics and tells such a story. It takes me to a place. I wish you all the best! Excited to hear more about your book and what else you’ve got goin’ on.
    Best of luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

