Sand Tarts

My Great Aunt Leona made these every year at Christmas–this is the closest I’ve ever found to her long lost recipe.

The Gourmand Mom

You’ve heard me kvetching about cut-out cookies in the past. As much as I love to bake, I’ve got very little patience for the flouring, rolling, cutting, baking, and individual decorating involved in making cut-out cookies. And all too often, I just don’t find the results to be worth the effort. But I have one big exception to this sentiment; Sand Tarts.

I found the recipe for these Sand Tarts several years ago, nestled in the back pages of an old Better Homes and Gardens A Festive Christmas cookbook. They are essentially a sugar cookie, accented with lemon and garnished with cinnamon sugar and almonds, which gives them the appearance of perfectly round, perfectly delicious sand dollars.

They are cut-out cookies. They require that floured work surface, rolling, cutting, baking, and individual decorating I have such low tolerance for. But, with these particular cut-out cookies, the end result is worth…

View original post 274 more words

About JunkChuck

Native, Militant Westsylvanian (the first last best place), laborer, gardener, and literary hobbyist (if by literary you mean "hack"). I've had a bunch of different blogs, probably four, due to a recurring compulsion to start over. This incarnation owes to a desire to dredge up the best entries of the worst little book of hand-scrawled poems I could ever dream of writing, salvageable excerpts from fiction both in progress and long-abandoned. and a smattering of whatever the hell seems to fit at any particular moment. At first blush, I was here just to focus on old, terrible verse, but I reserve the right to include...anything. Maybe everything, certainly my love of pulp novels growing garlic, the Pittsburgh Steelers and howling at the moon--both figuratively and, on rare occasions, literally.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sand Tarts

  1. M T McGuire says:

    They do look good. Labour intensive but good.

    Cheers

    MTM

    Like

    • JunkChuck says:

      They are, for being so simple in terms of ingredients. The labor doesn’t matter–I bake cookies each year with my 73 year old mom, who can’t stay on her feet all day like I can. She’s great with the details–rolling the thumbprint dough in eggwhites and ground nuts, cutting out the sugar cookies…. And if she can’t handle it, my kids are total suckers for that whole “quality time” schtick.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

