Help. Am I Alone In This?

We’re all familiar with how WordPress keeps screwing with the format. For a long time, I was able to find my way back to the interface that has lists of all the posts in my various catagories…drafts, published, scheduled, etc. It was in black, and very functional.  Now, my page is totally frakked. It looks like the photo below, with images and big blocks with teasers of the text…sort of like what the reader looks like. It is an abomination.  Also, the blue color makes me want to puke. Literally, it corrodes my soul.

Screenshot (1)

 

I don’t understand overly technical talk. Jargon makes me want to poke people in the eye with a glowing iron rod. If anyone can offer a step by step way to go back to the simple, clean, grid-like design, I’d love a tip. I want it to look like this again, ALL THE TIME:
Screenshot (2)

Another thing about this format–when one schedules a post for a later date, it is very awkward to change the date and time, unlike in the old format. I do not for the life of me understand why the people at WordPress would take a wonderful product–I mean, I LOVE it here–and make it so much less user friendly. Am I alone?

 

 

About JunkChuck

Native, Militant Westsylvanian (the first last best place), laborer, gardener, and literary hobbyist (if by literary you mean "hack"). I've had a bunch of different blogs, probably four, due to a recurring compulsion to start over. This incarnation owes to a desire to dredge up the best entries of the worst little book of hand-scrawled poems I could ever dream of writing, salvageable excerpts from fiction both in progress and long-abandoned. and a smattering of whatever the hell seems to fit at any particular moment. At first blush, I was here just to focus on old, terrible verse, but I reserve the right to include...anything. Maybe everything, certainly my love of pulp novels growing garlic, the Pittsburgh Steelers and howling at the moon--both figuratively and, on rare occasions, literally.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Help. Am I Alone In This?

  1. Karin says:

    I utterly detest the cartoony interface that is the ‘improved posting experience’. Yeah… Maybe if I want to revisit my LiveJournal years… Ugh.
    A while ago, I read and shared a post that gives a step by step to get back to the classic view – it’s faster to share this link than recreate the steps and hopefully will help you.
    http://theeclecticpoet.com/2015/11/18/how-do-i-get-back-to-the-full-dashboard-on-wordpress-com/

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Tricia says:

    I’m sorry I can’t help you at all on anything technical that may assist. I can only commiserate with you on the stupid not needed changes WP does from time to time.

    Liked by 1 person

    • JunkChuck says:

      Like highway engineers spending millions straightening curves and leveling hills when what we really need is maintenance and repairs on what we’ve got, I firmly believe the sort of useless, gratuitous changes we see in perfectly functional tech applications are the result of comfortable, uninspired software engineers desperate to secure their possibly tenuous employment by asserting their supposed relevancy.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. CC says:

    You are not alone is not understanding why they keep making it less user friendly..but I cannot for the life of me understanding why I am looking at a totally different screen for yours than mine is????
    OMG!! If mine ever starts looking like that I don’t know what I will do?? I wish I could help.. I have nooo clue wth I am looking at on this post. Mine changes all the time. But it does not look like that.. woww..sometimes it reverts me back…I think there is a button somewhere..also if I change themes it is diff sometimes..all I can think of to tell you ..check out the above link or go to support and put in how to go back to old (it has a specific name if you are talking about where you write your posts and I can’t think of it)..I go to support a lot and search questions..but you have done this longer than me.. sorry ..ugh..horrible

    Liked by 1 person

  4. yvonnekache says:

    Please follow back

    Like

  5. Haylee says:

    I’ve got used to the new format but then switch back and forth between the new one and clicking on WP Admin, where I can still load the old looking list format (that you have in the picture). It is a pain though and I wish all functions were available on all platforms – it annoys me that I can’t make edits from the app when I realise how many typos I’ve made half way through the day!!

    Liked by 2 people

    • JunkChuck says:

      Ah, the Admin panel! That’s how I got back to the reasonable interface before! I knew there was a way, but I tend to zone out when I’m writing here. This will do until they take it away, which will probably be soon.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. joey says:

    You’re not alone. Not at all. I just complain and adapt and swear a lot.

    Liked by 1 person

    • JunkChuck says:

      What drives me nuts is that there really isn’t anyone to complain to. Customer service is a thing of the past–help is left to “community” members who occasionally have work-arounds, but who have no real stake in providing solutions, nor any institutional responsibility. There is no one to explain answer the ultimate question, “why?”

      Liked by 1 person

  7. curvyroads says:

    I will go and check out Karin’s link when I am on the computer and hope that it helps too! 😉 Can’t do anything on this darn phone…

    Liked by 1 person

    • JunkChuck says:

      Phone! I’m driving an old Dell, rocking Vista Home basic, like it’s a vintage steam engine. Half the time I can’t even figure out how to answer my phone, which was a hand-me-down from my children. No way I could type on that tiny little screen. I really shouldn’t be allowed to use technology at all.

      Liked by 2 people

      • JunkChuck says:

        And for the record, I’m smart enough to have also purchased a cast iron external drive that constantly backs up my “vintage” hard drive. I almost replaced the old machine a while back but then, well, windows 8, the ultimate statement on this very real problem of taking something simple and functional and turning it into a complicated mess.

        Like

      • curvyroads says:

        Lol! But you are still able to blog, post pics, etc so you are rocking!!!

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Two years later and I still refuse to use the “new” posting template. Takes a bit of work to go the old school route, but I find that so much more appealing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

