On Politics, A Mini-Manifesto

I tried for a long time to keep politics out of this blog. Okay, for a little while–but it seemed like forever. I had this idealistic dream that I could keep my mouth shut and john-birch-society-american-flag-hero-einoffensively skip through the ether, getting along with everyone in a post Rodney King dream world of sunshine, lollipops, and glistening dew on early morning spiderwebs.

That went down the crapper quickly enough, because the world is full of rednecks who think America reached its pinnacle in the moments following confederate succession, who deny racism, who think that women’s bodies autonomously reject pregnancy in the event of rape, and Presidents–a fucking President, man–who brags about his history of sexual assault with a wink and a grin that says, well, you know, those chicks were asking for it.

I never liked being called a liberal. I haven’t much stomach for the sensitivity that has become a source of both internal pride and external derision for the moral left. Our unofficial family slogan here in chez junk is “suck it up, Lizzie.” There’s a story behind that–no one here is named Lizzie–but it has been a pretty effective way to raise children. Knocked down? You get back up, wipe your tears on your sleeve, and get on with it. I appreciate the importance that the left has placed on identity, on saying the right words at the right time, on being first and foremost respectful–but it is wearying, too, and it has become clear that in focusing so much energy on not being offensive (which is different from simply being respectful) we have concentrated too much on matters of individuality and too little on those that effect the community at large.

In a manner of speaking, those are peacetime concerns. We are presently at war against a despot who would wipe his fat, pimply ass with the constitution while scheduling prime time melodramas to air him bloviating from that same wrinkled, cellulite-curdled butt. Also against us are the enablers–rational and possibly even generally good men and women who know better–who goddamn know we can be so much better–yet who sit quietly by out of loyalty to party and love of power, hitching their carts to a twitter-mad, id-obsessed madman suffering from classical Textbook narcissistic personality disorder.

I’ve been a Democrat largely because the Pennsylvania electoral system is set up so that independent and third-party voters can’t vote in primaries, which means exclusion from local elections such as town council, school board of directors, and row offices. I’ve stayed screenshot_6a Democrat because however bad it gets, Republicans also seem to be worse. (You think Anthony “Look At My” Weiner isn’t thrilled about Trump’s romp through out ugly political landscape?) Democrats also seem to have better taste in beer.

Some of this is by default. For example: I align with pro-choice and environmentalist positions because, let’s be honest, I love trees, mountains, and untrammeled desert while I don’t particularly care for people and feel very strongly that there should be less of them–and it’s an either/or thing with birth control: teach kids about effective birth control and make it readily available or stick with all this ridiculous abstinence rhetoric and keep the abortion rates where they are.

I may do a position paper sometime in the future, when I’m feeling feisty, but I’m here now to declare–unless you missed it–that for now and for the immediate future, Old Road Apples will be a Voice of The Resistance; not THE voice of the resistance by any stretch of the imagination, but one voice among many, however ragged, second-hand, exhausted, or shrill. It will remain so until the current threat is quashed, until the Constitution is again revered, and until we have leaders who put justice, reason, sanity, and morality ahead of party allegiances and private aspirations.

If you’re a conservative and thrilled with the way things are going, I urge you to stick around, engage me, and make an effort to explain to me why? Because I clearly don’t understand. If you agree with me, in whole or in part, I need to hear from you as well. It is good to know we’re not alone, as we teeter on the brink of destruction. Let’s get this fixed so I can get back to being my old self–it’s far more rewarding to mock liberalism than it is to carry its torch, but as the old saying goes, the enemy of my enemy….

 

 

 

About JunkChuck

Native, Militant Westsylvanian (the first last best place), laborer, gardener, and literary hobbyist (if by literary you mean "hack"). I've had a bunch of different blogs, probably four, due to a recurring compulsion to start over. This incarnation owes to a desire to dredge up the best entries of the worst little book of hand-scrawled poems I could ever dream of writing, salvageable excerpts from fiction both in progress and long-abandoned. and a smattering of whatever the hell seems to fit at any particular moment. At first blush, I was here just to focus on old, terrible verse, but I reserve the right to include...anything. Maybe everything, certainly my love of pulp novels growing garlic, the Pittsburgh Steelers and howling at the moon--both figuratively and, on rare occasions, literally.
This entry was posted in Commentary, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to On Politics, A Mini-Manifesto

  1. kingmidget says:

    I’m a lifelong liberal who always wanted viable options from the other party and never got them. In terms of major offices, I have voted for a Republican exactly once and that was back in the 80’s. There have been times when there were Republicans running a primary I would have seriously considered voting for if they made it to the general election, but those Republicans never make it out of the primary. Whether at the national or state level. As you say, no matter how bad it is with the Dems, the Republicans always seem worse.

    I didn’t vote for Hillary — I have never voted for and never will. I didn’t vote for Trump. I wrote in a name because I thought the two major parties had completely failed us. I wish there was a way for a third party to form and create real competition, but the third parties always seem to be on the whacko extremes of the two major parties. And that’s not what I’m looking for.

    You mention with disappointment the Dems focus on identity politics. I share the disappointment. It’s time to stop fighting the battles of individuality and start fighting battles on behalf of humanity. I’ve grown far too tired of groups yelling for attention.

    I look forward to seeing if any rational conservative voices show up to take your invitation. In my experience, there aren’t many left.

    Liked by 1 person

    • little one says:

      Moderate, rational conservatives in the mold of Bill Weld, John Chaffee and Ed Brooke, have also had their voices silenced by the Tea Party and the Alt Right. They have been delegitimized and have had their patriotism questioned by radical elements within THEIR OWN PARTY. Sadly, if a viable moderate were to emerge, the system and its stranglehold of interests and corporate would crush the life from him or her, to be discarded like common trash. Not blind to the same in my Democrats’ own house… the same was done to Bernie Sanders by the powers that be of the DNC.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Moni says:

    Thank you!! I feel the same way

    Like

  3. little one says:

    Especially after the 2016 election, ‘progressive’ defines my ideology better, BUT… after 11 years of derision, near-hatred, splitting and hissing of the word liberal at my face, I embrace it. This quote wraps how I live and vote, proudly:

    “If by a “Liberal” they mean someone who looks ahead and not behind, someone who welcomes new ideas without rigid reactions, someone who cares about the welfare of the people-their health, their housing, their schools, their jobs, their civil rights and their civil liberties-someone who believes we can break through the stalemate and suspicions that grip us in our policies abroad, if that is what they mean by a “Liberal”, then I’m proud to say I’m a “Liberal.”

    ― John F. Kennedy, Profiles in Courage
    tags: democrats, liberal, politics

    Liked by 1 person

  4. joey says:

    Despot, check.
    Narcissist, check.
    Id-obsessed madman, check.
    President, only by title.

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

